Wonder

I recently was allowed to check-out of the school library where  I work a robot from Wonder. It is the Dash version, and my daughter and I had a lot of fun programming the robot. She would probably would not have stopped working with it if it hadn’t run out of power. The coding didn’t seem too hard for a second grader (albeit gifted) but challenging enough that it was worth the time invested. It worked from a very beginner level (get the robot to move backward) to more complicated tasks such as move and speak after “getting scared” by a quick arm movement. My mentor told me that she just introduced it to the fourth graders at the school and they were having fun programming it, making the library more fun. Getting kids engaged and wanting to be in the library makes me want to look more into this particular product to see if it will be something I will invest the dollars in for my future library position.

Leave a Reply

